Skip to main content

UNESCO World Heritage

The Heritage Site stands for the splendid natural beauty of the Alps. At its heart lies the impressive Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau rock massif and the glacial landscape surrounding the Great Aletsch Glacier.

UNESCO World Heritage
Das Jungfraujoch im Winter

World Heritage of outstanding universal value.

Covering an area of 824 square kilometers, the Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO-World Heritage Site contains nearly all of the Bernese High Alps, with their monumental rock massifs, in the Cantons of Berne and Valais.

UNESCO Jungfrau Aletsch © Christian Bleuer


The UNESCO World Heritage Committee agreed to extend the Jungfrau-Aletsch-Bietschhorn World Heritage Area during their annual meeting in Christchurch (NZ) on June 28th, 2007. Parts of the Bernese Oberland municipalities of Guttannen, Innertkirchen, Meiringen and Schattenhalb now belong to the World Heritage Area.

Cooperation with Grindelwald

In 2001, the area around the Eiger, Mönch, Jungfrau and the Great Aletsch Glacier received the designation of Natural Heritage. Grindelwald and UNESCO are now intensifying their cooperation on three levels.

More information

Book your accommodation now!

Book additional services!

Special offers